Priorities:New Wheels vs dropper

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Priorities:New Wheels vs dropper
  • Previous Page
Posted: May 4, 2021 at 12:54 Quote
I have a 2018 SC Hightower with 27.5 + wheels and a failed but functional reverb dropper post. I’m planning to replace the dropper w a PNW, but am considering getting a 29er wheel set first. Which would you do first ?

Posted: May 4, 2021 at 13:47 Quote
I'm a relative noob to mountain biking and I utterly enjoy my 29er with a dropper post. Can't imagine doing without either.
However, I can't see how a new wheelset with tires is comparable to a dropper post cost wise.
I would spend a little less on each and get both.

Posted: May 4, 2021 at 14:30 Quote
I would deal with the failed part first. Last thing you would want is to buy wheels and then the dropper completely stop working before you could or wanted to spend the money.

Posted: May 5, 2021 at 5:41 Quote
Agree with above: Fix or replace the dropper first.

O+
Posted: May 5, 2021 at 7:19 Quote
Brand X dropper, and the most expensive set of wheels you can afford.

Posted: May 5, 2021 at 7:33 Quote
Wheelsets are place where it really is good to shoot for the highest quality(not price) you can get. It makes a big difference. I wouldn't skimp on that unless you don't plan on holding onto the bike anyway.

So, fix your seatpost. Seatposts and the wheels you should be shooting for aren't really in the same price category.

Posted: May 5, 2021 at 18:01 Quote
Explodo wrote:
Wheelsets are place where it really is good to shoot for the highest quality(not price) you can get. It makes a big difference. I wouldn't skimp on that unless you don't plan on holding onto the bike anyway.

So, fix your seatpost. Seatposts and the wheels you should be shooting for aren't really in the same price category.

On that note, what wheels do you prefer? What hubs?