Rockshox yari rc 160mm solo air not returning to full travel

PB Forum :: All Mountain, Enduro & Cross-Country
Rockshox yari rc 160mm solo air not returning to full travel
  • Previous Page
Posted: Nov 19, 2016 at 13:14 Quote
Basically I just got a 2016 yt Capra al 2 weeks ago. I set the sag on the yaris to 25%. Now after not touching the bike for 2 weeks when I stand up on the bike in an aggressive position the forks compress but don't return completely to full travel (about 5% missing). I haven't rode the bike yet because it's for Christmas. I've read online it's something to do with grease in the fork and some hard riding will get rid of it. I've also read about something to do with positive and negative chambers not equallized? Would pumping the fork up in intervals and cycling the fork 5 times at each interval equallize them? If anyones got any advice it'd be great because I'm new to high end suspension

Posted: Nov 19, 2016 at 22:32 Quote
Yes. This infamous problem. I went through this with my Pike so hopefully my experience can help you out.

When operating properly, the fork will have "free play" at the top of its travel. You should be able to move it through the first 3-5% of its travel in both directions without any spring force.

How to test if the negative spring port is clogged: let all the air out. If it sucks itself down, the port is clogged with grease and not letting the air out of the negative spring. If the fork stays up with no air (aside from weight or pushing down on it) then it's working properly.

There are two ways to go about unclogging it. Number one, take off the air cap so you can see down inside. Pull up super hard. You should hear a small slurp from inside whenever it hits the top of its travel if air is passing through the port properly.