Is there an easy way to bleed just the brake lever on an SRAM Guide brake?

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Is there an easy way to bleed just the brake lever on an SRAM Guide brake?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jun 7, 2016 at 12:34 Quote
I had to shorten the brake hose on my SRAM Guide RSC brakes on my Bronson.

It feels like a little bit of air got in there as they won't hold full pressure for longer than a couple seconds now. I want to avoid a full bleed if possible.

I watched this video on how to just bleed the upper with Shimano brakes using this little funnel:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgz3EoteGRU.

Is there a way to do this for SRAM brakes? Wanted something quick/easy like that. I do have the SRAM bleed kit, but again, looking to just do a quick bleed of the lever, not the whole brake system.

I'm a complete noob on doing stuff like this so looking for input geared toward a noob. Need to learn this stuff though as I want to start to do my own maintenance.

O+
Posted: Jun 7, 2016 at 20:50 Quote
A basic overfill will work fairly effectively to help your issue.
Things you will need:
- Bleed syringe
- Appropriate DOT fluid
- Pad spacer (Ideally a few millimetres wider than your rotors to ensure a proper pad gap)
Fill a syringe with dot fluid and degas it as you would with a bleed. Then remove your rear wheel and open up your lever bleed port. Screw your syringe in and slowly add fluid while you pump your brake lever until your pads contact each other. Once the pads have contacted, pump and flick the lever a bit to try to get as much air as possible out of the line. You can then remove your syringe. Now insert your pad spacer between the pads and leave it between the pads, but try not to lever it side to side. This will remove the excess fluid from the line. Now you can close the bleed port and lever the pad spacer side to side a bit. This should give you a perfect pad gap and a solid lever feel.