Help figuring out if these are the same?

PB Forum :: Mechanics' Lounge
Help figuring out if these are the same?
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: May 26, 2016 at 15:36 Quote
Hi all,

I am relatively new to mountain biking so my knowledge of suspension is limited coming from a bmx background.

I bought some Fox Float forks last year but haven't been getting on them when riding.

I'm looking at some RockShox Revelation forks and have come across these two pages - They seem identical but prices vary quite a bit between the two. Am I correct that these are the same fork with just a price difference, or are these different models?

https://www.evanscycles.com/rockshox-revelation-rct3-solo-air-140mm-tapered-26-fork-EV200446
&
http://www.tredz.co.uk/.RockShox-Revelation-RCT3-Solo-Air-140-26-MaxleLite15-Tapered-Disc-2016_81771.htm

Would anyone also know if these are a good fork choice for the price range?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Ash.

Posted: May 26, 2016 at 15:42 Quote
first off, what year and model are the fox's you have and what are the issues you are having with them?

Posted: May 26, 2016 at 15:47 Quote
They are 2014 Fox 32 with Kashima coating 160mm travel. I bought them second hand and was told that they had just been serviced by Mojo suspension in the UK.

The problems I am having are the seals are very leaky, like excessive where after a ride there will be a run of oil down the fork leg. And secondly 160mm is just too much travel... I feel like I'm riding a chopper bike and would like to go less which is why I'm looking at 140mm. For reference I have a Cotic BFE frame in Medium.

Thanks,

Ash

Posted: May 26, 2016 at 18:19 Quote