Calling all Gran Mal riders

PB Forum :: Freeride & Slopestyle
Calling all Gran Mal riders
  • Previous Page
  • Next Page
Posted: Jan 9, 2008 at 15:26 Quote
Hey guys,

I am 6' 2" at 215 lbs with gear. I have been riding my Gran Mal for about 4 months now. Here is the set up...Gran Mal Long frame...Revox 6 way(9.5" x 3") shock with a 450# Ti spring...Zoke 888RC2X. My problem is I am constantly bottoming it out the rear off of small features and the rear wheel is hitting the back of the seat. It is bottoming out on things that dont even really move the suspension on my Dirtbag with a swinger 4 way. I feel like this should not be this way. I have tried every setting possible with the shock. So...my question is what size are you guys and what set up are you running for the rear suspension. What shock, spring type and rate, shock travel setting ect... I can not get a bigger Ti spring due to clearance around the shock and I am running the compression setting and the air assist at the max settings. I am not sure where to go from here. I emailed TBC with the same Questions and I am waiting for their response. I bought the Gran Mal for my big hit bike but it seems, as for mine anyways, that it is not cut out for the tasks. I am way more confident in my Dirtbags ability and it has a much more inferior build in my opinion than the Gran Mal. This should not be. I ride with 3 other Gran Mals and 2 of them have the same problem and they are running the Fox 5.0. So I dont think the problem is as simple as get a Fox. I am open to any suggestions, new shock, new spring, type and rate(steel), what ever. I am almost ready to sell this bike and get a different big hit bike (The Huckster). I own 3 TBC bikes as of now...(Gran Mal, Dirtbag, and a T O P...and I would like to stay with TBC, but I need a big bike for the big stuff. I am just not feeling it with the G M. Thanks for reading and any help is appreciated.

Posted: Jan 9, 2008 at 19:37 Quote